Home » Events & Programs » Bluebird on the Mountain Concerts

Bluebird on the Mountain Concerts

It all started in 2004 with, “Wouldn’t this be a wonderful place to have a concert?!” Standing on the plaza in front of the incredible 1950s building with the giant dome (which houses the Seyfert Telescope) and looking out at the surrounding oak and hickory forest, one can easily get a sense of how special this place would be for listening to talented musicians. On one of the tallest hilltops in Nashville, the concerts are scheduled around glorious sunsets on the portico of the Vanderilt Dyer Observatory.  Guests are encouraged to bring blankets, lawn chairs, food, and drink and relax on the Observatory’s front lawn to enjoy a fabulous evening of sunset, music, and stars.  After the performance, when the stars begin to shine, the telescope is opened for visitors to cap their night with views of celestial wonders.

The 2015 Bluebird on the Mountain at Vanderbilt Dyer Observatory Concert Series dates will be as follows:

  • May 16 - Gordon Kennedy, Danny Flowers, & Karla Davis - Cancelled due to weather
  • June 27 - Tony Arata, Fred Knobloch, Thom Schuyler, & Jelly Roll Johnson
  • July 25 - Lari White, Chuck Cannon, & Pam Rose
  • August 15 - Tony Haselden, Walker Hayes, & Heather Morgan
  • September 12 - Travis Meadows, Lucie Silvas, & Jeremy Spillman
  • September 19 – Gordon Kennedy, Karla Davis, & Danny Flowers – May 16 make-up date
  • October 3 - Jim Collins, Brett James, and another to be announced

Important Notes about the 2015 Bluebird on the Mountain Concert Series:

  • SEASON TICKETS WILL GO ON SALE TO THE GENERAL PUBLIC SATURDAY, NOVEMBER 1 AT 10AM. A limited number of individual concert tickets go on sale at Ticketmaster on the first day of the prior month.  For example, a limited number of individual tickets for the July 25 concert will go on sale June 1.
  • Because the concerts are outside events, there is the possibility of severe weather cancellations.  The determination to cancel a concert will be made by 3:00pm on the concert date.  No exchange, no refunds, no re-entry.  A rain date of September 19 has been set aside in case of a concert cancellation.
  • The Seyfert Telescope is located on the second floor of the observatory. There are twenty steps leading to the second floor.
  • For the safety of all observatory guests, close-toed footwear is highly recommended.
  • Vehicles larger than a standard-size school bus will not fit through the gate.
  • Please adhere to the Bluebird Cafe’s “Shhhhh” Policy - We encourage talking before the show, between sets and after the show but ask that during the performances, to keep talking as low as possible.
  • Vanderbilt University is a smoke-free campus, including Dyer Observatory. Smoking is prohibited in all buildings on campus and on the grounds with the exception of designated outdoor smoking areas.

Thanks to Amy Kurland and Erika Wollam-Nichols of the Bluebird Cafe‘ fame, we are producing a series of in-the-round style events that have been absolutely wonderful. The performers have included the top songwriters in Nashville.  In 2015, we celebrate our 12th cooperative Bluebird concert season in May and continue monthly through October.  Tickets for these concerts are sold through Ticketmaster. We encourage carloads of people to attend by purchasing a “carload ticket.” Bring up to 8 people in your car. No RVs please.

Some of the performers at our music events

Jessi Alexander
Al Anderson
Tony Arata
Greg Barnhill
Billy Adair and The Establishment
Blair School Tuba Ensemble
Blair Brass Quintet
Marc Beeson
Dave Berg
Matraca Berg
Kent Blazy 

Crystal Bowersox
Gary Burr

Shawn Camp
Chuck Cannon
Kim Carnes

Lionel Cartwright
Craig Carothers

Brandy Clark
Dana Cooper
Peter Cooper
Commodore Steel Drum Band with Mat Britain
Beth Nielsen Chapman
Marshall Chapman
Ashley Cleveland
Judy Collins

Barry Dean
Roxie Dean
Bob DiPiero
Tom Douglas
Dave Ellingson
Danny Flowers
Jeff Hanna
Don Henry
Joe Henry
James House
Marcus Hummon
John Jarvis

S. Kirk Johnson (Jelly Roll)
Jude Johnstone
Tom Kimmel

J. Fred Knobloch
Luke Laird
Tim Lauer
David Lee
Sonny LeMaire
Bill Lloyd
Shane McAnnally 

Lori McKenna

Clay Mills
Wendell Mobley

Annie Mosher
Tony Mullins
Tim Nichols
Gary Nicholson
Billy Panda
Gretchen Peters

Grace Pettis

Pierce Pettis
Jim Photoglo
Hugh Prestwood

Jon Randall
Mike Reid
Kim Richey
Annie Roboff
Karyn Rochelle
Rivers Rutherford

Leslie Satcher
Don Schlitz
Thom Schuyler
David Schnaufer

Mark Selby
Jason Sellers

Allen Shamblin
Victoria Shaw

Tia Sillers
Karen Staley

Jack Tempchin

George Teren
Neil Thrasher
Tricia Walker
Kenny White
Lari White
Little Texas

With a big, giant THANK YOU to everyone of them!